Artikkelen er over to år gammel, og innholdet kan være utdatert.

A bursary for young researchers within the field of wind engineering and bridge dynamics.

The late Professor Thomas A. Wyatt and his family wanted to contribute to the work of young researchers within the areas of wind engineering and bridge dynamics at Norwegian universities. Papers produced by PhD-candidates and post docs affiliated with the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and the University of Stavanger (UiS) are hereby invited to apply for the award.

About Thomas A. Wyatt

Wyatt was a key figure in the creation of the Wind Engineering Society in the UK. From 2014 until he passed away in January 2018, he was an expert advisor for the fjord crossing group in The Coastal Highway Route E39-project. Read more about Wyatt’s scientific contribution

More information about Thomas A. Wyatt and the award is given in this article: New bursary created for young wind researchers with a passion for life!

Up to two candidates may be awarded for their paper each year. The amount of the award is 35.000 NOK. The award is meant to help the winner to visit relevant international well-known research groups, and /or participate in conferences.

How to apply

The first author of a candidate paper will be considered as an applicant and she/he must apply for the award by herself/himself. Neither nomination nor recommendation is required.

The applicant is asked to submit the following application materials:

  • CV (one page)
  • One paper to be considered for the award with the evidence of its publication during the period from August 1st of the last year to July 31st of the current year.
  • If the paper has co-authors, a statement about the applicant’s and the co-authors’ contributions to the paper with name/e-mail address/phone number of a reference person who is familiar with the applicant’s research.

The application for the award can be sent (either in English or Norwegian) to the following e-mail address:

Any questions can be directed to one of the administrators of the award:

  • Manager Fjord Crossings Coastal Highway Route E39, Mathias Egeland Eidem
  • Professor Anders Rønnquist,

The applicant will receive a confirmation e-mail with a registration number for her/his paper.

The deadline for submission of the application is October 1st 2021.

Previous winners of the Tom A. Wyatt award

Read about the previous winners of the award: 

2020: Vinneren av Tom A. Wyatt award 2020 er kåret

2019: To vindforskere tildelt Tom A. Wyatt-prisen

Researchers within the areas of wind engineering and bridge dynamics at the University of Stavanger or NTNU are invited to apply for the Tom A. Wyatt award 2021. (Illustration of Langenuen suspension bridge: Statens vegvesen/Kværner)
Aktuelt for fylke(r): Rogaland, Vestland